Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia - NMBA farewells long-serving Chair and welcomes new appointment
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

NMBA farewells long-serving Chair and welcomes new appointment

22 Oct 2020

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) has thanked its outgoing Chair and welcomed a new appointment to the role.

Associate Professor Lynette Cusack’s term as NMBA Chair ended this month after six and a half years in the role. Ahpra CEO, Martin Fletcher, thanked Associate Professor Cusack for her leadership of the Board, which regulates over 440,000 nurses and midwives.

‘Associate Professor Cusack has been an exemplary leader and has made an invaluable contribution not only to the NMBA but to the whole of the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme. She is highly respected throughout the Scheme and she should be very proud of her achievements and the great foundation she leaves for the future,’ Mr Fletcher said.

‘I welcome the decision of Ministers to appoint Adjunct Associate Professor Veronica Casey AM as the new Chair of the NMBA.’

Adjunct Associate Professor Casey is a registered nurse and midwife from Queensland, who served on the Queensland Board of the NMBA from 2010 to 2015 and on the NMBA since 2015. She has been appointed as Chair of the NMBA for a period of three years.

Adjunct Associate Professor Casey said she was honoured to be appointed and looked forward to continuing to support safe nursing and midwifery practice across Australia.

NMBA members are appointed by Health Ministers. More information about the NMBA Board members is available on the About section of the NMBA website.

For more information:

  • For media enquiries: (03) 8708 9200.
  • Visit the Board Members section of the NMBA website.
  • Make an Enquiry using our online enquiry form.
  • For registration enquiries: 1300 419 495 (within Australia) +61 3 9285 3010 (overseas callers).

Page reviewed 22/10/2020