Assessing your qualifications

As an applicant, you must satisfy the evidentiary requirements of the three NMBA-approved qualification criteria. This is in line with the intentions of the assessment model to provide consistent, equitable assessment for all applicants against a common set of criteria.

According to the requirements of the National Law, it is not possible to take into account work experience when assessing the substantial equivalence of your qualification(s). However, we consider work experience when assessing whether you meet the requirements of the NMBA’s Recency of Practice registration standard. In order for us to assess your qualifications against the three qualification criteria, you need to submit various supporting documents with your application. Refer to Supporting documentation for us to assess your qualification for further information.

It is important that you take time to consider the qualification criteria so you can assess the likelihood of the NMBA granting you registration.

Under criterion 3 of the qualification criteria, the educational level of your qualification will be assessed against the current level expected of an Australian graduate, as defined by the AQF:

  • Bachelor degree for registered nurses and midwives (AQF level 7), and 
  • Diploma for enrolled nurses (AQF level 5).

The NMBA uses the AQF to benchmark international qualifications against Australian qualifications. The AQF is the national policy for regulated qualifications in Australian education and training. It incorporates the qualifications from each Australian education and training sector into a single comprehensive national qualifications framework.

As part of the assessment process, each overseas qualification is assessed to determine its educational level relative to the AQF framework.

The AQF level is an indication of the relative complexity, depth of achievement and autonomy required to show a qualification achievement, with AQF level 1 representing the lowest complexity and level 10 the highest.

More information about the AQF and its alignment with international qualifications frameworks is available at the Australian Qualifications Framework website.

The table below gives an indicative guideline for AQF equivalence. Please note this is a guideline only and may differ for certain education institutions.

Qualification AQF level
Bachelor degree AQF 7
Advanced Diploma/ Diploma of Higher Education/ Associate Degree AQF 6
Diploma/ Hospital Certificate AQF 5
Certificate IV AQF 4

Where your qualification leading to registration does not meet all three qualification criteria, we will take into account any relevant subsequent nursing and/or midwifery qualifications that may allow you to meet the requirements for registration or referral to bridging.

It is important that you submit documentation for all relevant qualifications you hold that may be able to contribute to the outcome of your application.

Page reviewed 9/12/2019