Internationally qualified nurses and midwives

As part of its public protection role, the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) in partnership with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) is responsible for assessing registration applications from internationally qualified nurses and midwives (IQNMs) to ensure they are suitably trained and qualified for registration in Australia.

To work as a registered nurse, enrolled nurse, nurse practitioner or midwife in Australia, you must be registered with the NMBA.

IQNM applications for registration must meet:

  1. The NMBA mandatory registration standards.

  2. The NMBA qualification assessment criteria, which define the minimum acceptable education and training that international applicants must have completed.

The qualification assessment criteria

From 2019, the NMBA has revised assessment criteria for IQNMs. The revised criteria will streamline the qualification assessment process; however, the outcomes from assessments will be the same as under the previous criteria.

IQNM qualifications are assessed against the qualification criteria under section 53(b) of the National Law.

Each qualification is assessed against the following three criteria:

  1. Qualification recognized for registration
  2. Quality assurance and accreditation
  3. Academic level of qualification
Page reviewed 20/06/2019