Changes to assessment of internationally qualified nurses and midwives

04 Sep 2019

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) is moving to an outcomes-based assessment model for some internationally qualified nurses and midwives (IQNMs).

Currently, IQNMs who hold qualifications which are relevant but not substantially equivalent or based on similar competencies to Australian nursing and midwifery qualifications (and who meet NMBA mandatory registration standards) are referred to bridging programs.

From 1 October 2019, these IQNM applicants will be offered the choice of being referred to a bridging program or to the NMBA outcomes-based assessment (OBA). The OBA will commence in January 2020.

From January 2020, all IQNMs with relevant but not substantially equivalent qualifications will be referred to the OBA.  

About the OBA

The OBA consists of two parts: a multiple-choice exam, followed by an objective structured clinical exam (OSCE). Applicants will need to pass the multiple-choice exam before being able to undertake the OSCE. More information on the OBA is available in the fact sheet.

What if I’ve already been referred to bridging?

IQNMs already undertaking a bridging program should continue and complete their program.

The NMBA is aware that some IQNMs who have previously been referred to bridging programs have been unable to secure a place in a program. IQNMs who hold a current referral to a bridging program can contact AHPRA after 1 October 2019 if they wish to be referred to the OBA instead. IQNMs will not be charged another fee for transferring their referral to the OBA. IQNMs should refer to the AHPRA contact details provided on their referral letter.

For more information

For more information on the OBA, please see the fact sheet.

Page reviewed 4/09/2019