Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia - Accreditation
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status


The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) is responsible for the regulation of nurses and midwives. The Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council (ANMAC) is the accreditation authority responsible for accrediting education providers and programs of study for the nursing and midwifery profession.

Accreditation standards

The National Board has approved the following accreditation standards. These documents are available on the accreditation standards page of the ANMAC website:

  • Registered Nurse Accreditation Standards (2019)
  • Enrolled Nurse Accreditation Standards (2017)
  • Nurse Practitioner Accreditation Standards (2015)
  • Midwife Accreditation Standards (2021)
  • Programs leading to Endorsement for Scheduled Medicines for Midwives (2015)
  • Standards and Criteria for the Accreditation of Nursing and Midwifery Courses Re-Entry to the Register Standards Enrolled Nurses (2010)
  • Re-entry to the Register Registered Nurse Accreditation Standards (2014)
  • Entry Programs for Internationally Qualified Registered Nurses Accreditation Standards (2014)
  • Re-entry to the Register Midwife Accreditation Standards (2016)   

Standards review

From time to time, the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council (ANMAC) reviews the accreditation standards it has developed and goes into wide-ranging consultation on new or revised content. 

Visit the standards review page on the ANMAC website for details on what is undergoing review.

Page reviewed 29/01/2021